Resident Evil – Now in VR

Let me be brutally honest, I am extremely apprehensive when it comes to anything related to horror. I’ve never played a Resident Evil for this reason. I know some things ab0ut the games but I was too young to follow the happenings in 1, 2, and 3. When I started paying attention to video game news 4 was on the way and I knew enough to stay away.

Lately everyone has been talking about how 7 has revitalized the series in a new way. It is horror at it’s core and people are loving it. I seem to think it odd that the first thing I heard about 7 some time ago was the compatibility with the PSVR. The entire game was going to be in VR. I thought “Wow! Tremendous that such a big title is getting full VR support!” but shockingly enough it seems like that talking point is looked over almost everywhere I go. (Save for /r/PSVR and a small excerpt here and there complaining about the 30 degree turning).

resident-evil-7-2016915134827_1

Being a PSVR owner, I feel like it is my moral obligation to buy this game just to support the VR Platform. I’m having a hard time with that. Not because I don’t want to buy the game. Because I don’t want to play the game. I’m sure mechanically, graphically and story-wise, it is a fantastic game. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t want to play it because I know it will be terrifying, and because I will want to play it in VR.

I watched a YouTuber playing the first 30 minutes and there were some things I jumped at. My heart rate spiked during intense areas. Confined spaces made me feel cramped, and I was just watching on a 2D screen. Not even playing, let alone playing in VR.

I’m coming to grips with this slowly. It is going to be a hard decision. I might get it and drown out the native audio with something a bit more upbeat.

One thought on “Resident Evil – Now in VR

Leave a Reply

