Kubo and the Two Strings

I’m making a point this year to watch (hopefully) all of the 2016 Oscar nominated Movies and Animated Movies before the awards come out at the end of February. I have only been watching the Oscars for a few years now but I seem to recall that every year I wonder “Why didn’t [movie] get nominated?” (Starwars, Dr. Strange). I realize that it is about the artistic approach and all of that, but sometimes Sci-fi is just REALLY good.

Anyway, this post isn’t a rant about my opinions on the Oscars or not, it is about Kubo. I’m going to try to keep it spoiler free and just talk about how I felt.

kubo-main_0

I can’t believe how long it took me to see this film. Kubo really brought joy to me. It is a wonderful flick and if you haven’t seen it, please do. The dialog is quick witted and funny. The characters are full of personality and charm. The story has purpose and is concise enough to keep you hooked (meaning there is very little, if no extra fluff to pad the run time). The ending is satisfying.

Don’t even get me started on the process that it took to make this. This is a stop motion animation. I don’t know the first thing about making an animated movie, but I do know that if I had to make one, it wouldn’t be stop motion. The drive that the creators have to see these types of projects to the end is very impressive. The characters look so polished that you might think it is a CG rendered film. I thought some of the special effects HAD to be CG, until I watched the “behind the scenes” videos. I was absolutely blown away by how they brought this world to life.

I’m not sure what will happen this year at the Oscars, but so far, Kubo is probably my favorite of the bunch. I still have a few to watch so it’s hard to say right now but I haven’t enjoyed an animated movie this much since “The Lego Movie”

 

4 thoughts on “Kubo and the Two Strings

  1. This movie has been on my phone for ages (well, just months actually). I just downloaded it because like you, I resolved myself to watch these Oscar-nominated movies… Having read your “review”, (thank goodness it’s spoiler-free) I think it’s high time for me to watch Kubo and see for myself what the fuss is all about 😁 thanks for sharing this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

