Yakuza 0

This weekend I found some extra cash in my budget so I wandered into a nearby Gamestop looking for a deal. Instead I was reminded of this fact: there is a new Yakuza game out.

I’m by no means a Yakuza series vet. I’ve played 4, 5 and now 0. I was slightly disappointed that Yakuza 5 came out on the PS3 instead of the PS4. I understand that it comes out in Japan like 3 years in advance though. Maybe I should wish for a global release date next time instead.

I’m having a ton of fun with this game. It focuses on two characters, one I’m familiar with and one not so much so, Kiryu Kazuma and Goro Majima. Kiryu is an obvious choice since the series has revolved around him since the beginning. Was surprised they went with Majima over Taiga Saejima until I was reminded sometime in chapter 3 that he was in prison during this time. (The game takes place in 1988)

I knew Yakuza 0 was a thing but I honestly had no idea I’d get the chance to play it. I like the Yakuza games but they have never been at the top of my list of games to buy. I need to arrange that for next time, I always enjoy these games. I was worried that since this one is set in the 80s that it would be lacking on things to do (minigames) but I have been super surprised.

So far I’m in on chapter 4. I don’t know how many chapters there are but I’m already looking forward to the future of the game. I’m seriously considering going for the Platinum Trophy even though I think it will be a pain. I’m having that much fun right now, only time will tell if that fun continues.

I really enjoy the scenery. It makes me want to go to real Tokyo and just wander around. Even the 80s rendition of Kamurocho is seriously enthralling, which again surprised me considering my outlook on the 80s is a technology free era. You have a beeper as your primary method of communication. It is fantastic. It makes me want to live in a time where constant communication was at your fingertips. It had to feel so free.

So yes, I’m so satisfied with this purchase. I feel like I never know what to expect for Yakuza. I don’t really follow the games outside of playing them. I never know when they come out in the west. The following in the USA has to be very small though. /r/YakuzaGames only had 900 members. Compared to over 700k in /r/Overwatch I’d say the following in general is pretty tiny but I’m happy they keep putting the games out. As long as they do, I’ll keep buying them.

7 thoughts on “Yakuza 0

    • It’s a wonderful series. If you have a PS3 and 4 you can catch up pretty easily. One is the origins story, 4 recaps everything from one two and 3 and 5 is just a continuation. 6 is the final chapter out next year! In terms of story telling this game is very strong. It got me in the mood for another Japanese hit, Persona 5!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, that is a big title too. Yes I do have Ps3 and Ps4. I am actually getting prepared for Nioh, except my copy got delayed! Won’t get it until next month. But I will sure to have these games on my list to play!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

